Cymru (Wales)

This past weekend I visited the beautiful city of Snowdonia in the north-west of Wales. I was joined by over 150 other American students for a weekend of adventures and sightseeing. Upon entering Wales you will shortly find out that the country has an abundance of sheep (that’s an understatement) Another thing that I noticed was that there was always a strange combination of letters under or above each English word. This language is known as Welsh. (here is an example) Image

Hearing this language was quite interesting to say the least…

The first night while in Wales we had a pub trivia night. This was a great chance for me to have fun and meet other students from the United States that have been studying in different parts of the UK. The following morning I headed off to go go-karting (we had all been assigned different activities to take part in) This wasn’t just any go-karting that I had encountered. This go-karting included us wearing helmets, full body suits, and gloves. The laps were timed and presented on a monitor for us to see. The top 3 winners received champagne (I lost 😦 )

Image

My years of Mario Kart training didn’t pay off

Image

 

Following go- karting I was assigned to mountain biking. I had never been mountain  biking before and was very excited because the location of the biking was beautiful. The biking it self didn’t go so beautifully. It did not take long to figure out that I was not gifted in the sport. In the end I completed the 14 mile biking (Tour de Snowdonia)  Here are some photos of the views I had gotten from the biking.

wales steal 8 wales steal 6

 

After my long day of adventures I headed back to the hotel we stayed at and got some rest. Shortly after I decided to take a walk around the area and see what I could find.

wales steal 7 wales steal 5 wales steal 4 wales steal 3 wales steal 2 wales steal

After taking a walk around I again headed back to the hotel. That night we had a party planned at our hotel for us. Needless to say 150 students at a hotel will always be fun. We enjoyed music, food, and the bar.

The following day we would all be returning to our universities but before we did that we would all take a short morning trip to a neighboring village along the sea side.

wales sea 2 wales sea wales sea 3

 

It was great to see a new country and get away from the city life of Leeds.

Now it is Tuesday, March 12 and I am going to see my family in London! We plan to stay in London for a few days then we will head off to Paris for a few more days! I am very excited to see them. I will update you after my trip with them, stay posted!

3 thoughts on “Cymru (Wales)

  1. Great pictures Dylan! I particularly love the one of you dressed up in your Mario Kart gear!!! I wonder why all the sheep….how much “mutton” have you eaten there? That castle is amazing! Whose castle was it? I’m so excited to read about these excursions….they make my excursions to Wal Mart seem pretty pitiful. 🙂 Glad you’re having fun!

Leave a Reply

